Who has won the most World Snooker Championship titles? | The Sun

RONNIE O'SULLIVAN is in the hunt to become the greatest snooker player of all time THIS YEAR.

The Rocket, 47, has been in fine form at the World Snooker Championships in Sheffield and has the chance to become the top player ever.

The record for the most victories at the Crucible is currently held by icon Stephen Hendry.

But O'Sullivan is already part of an elite group of winners who will be considered greats of the game for generations.

Who has the most World Snooker Championship titles?

Hendry and O'Sullivan are currently the most decorated snooker players of all time.

The Scot has won at the Crucible a stunning SEVEN times and Rocket joined him in 2022 with tournament victory.

Hendry has also been runner-up twice.

Most World Snooker Championships ranked

  • Stephen Hendry (Scotland), Ronnie O'Sullivan (England) – 7 titles
  • Steve Davies (England), Ray Reardon (Wales) – 6 titles
  • John Higgins (Scotland), Mark Selby (England) – 4 titles
  • Mark Williams (Wales), John Spencer (England) – 3 titles
  • Alex Higgins (Northern Ireland) – 2 titles
  • Shaun Murphy (England), Cliff Thorburn (Canada), Peter Ebdon (England), Graeme Dott (Scotland), Ken Doherty (Ireland), Dennis Taylor (Northern Ireland), Judd Trump (England), John Parrott (England), Terry Griffiths (Wales), Joe Johnson (England) – 1 title

Who has reached the most finals without winning?

That unfortunate gong belongs to the iconic Jimmy White.

The Londoner made it to the final an incredible SIX times without a single outright victory.

In 1994 he agonisingly lost a final frame decider to Hendry, who is of course codenamed the King of the Crucible.

Most read in Sport

Ex-Prem star and boxing champ battered cousin in pub beer garden

Shelvey sent home by Cooper for 'throwing toys out pram' after being benched

Tottenham AXE Stellini as interim boss after Levy meets with senior players

Arsenal plane bursts into flames on runway as pilot forced to abandon take off

Players who have reached the World Snooker Championship final without winning

  • Jimmy White (England) – 6 finals
  • Eddie Charlton (Australia), Matthew Stevens (Wales), Ali Carter (England) – 2 finals
  • Barry Hawkins (England), Ding Junhui (China), Kyren Wilson (England), Nigel Bond (England), Perrie Mans (South Africa), John Pulman (England), Gary Owen (Wales), Doug Mountjoy (Wales), Graham Miles (England), Warren Simpson (Australia) – 1 final

Source: Read Full Article